CLARIN ERIC is a Knowledge Sharing Infrastructure. Based on a set of measures and facilities, CLARIN ERIC Infrastructure aims at securing a continuous transfer of knowledge between all players involved in the construction, operation and use of the Infrastructure. Each of them needs knowledge and expertise to do their jobs, and they generate new knowledge and expertise as they go along.

One central step in building the CLARIN Knowledge Sharing Infrastructure is the establishment of Knowledge Centres (K-Centres).

Any Organisation/Institute (e.g. University, Research Centre etc.) can apply for being recognized as a K-Centre even the existing CLARIN B and/or CLARIN C Centres, but also Organisations/Institutes which are not (yet) part of CLARIN. K-Centres can also be distributed, that is, consist of a collaboration between more than one physical Organisation/Institute. It is also possible for an Organisation/Institute to join an existing distributed Knowledge Centre if it has expertise in the same area.

So far, there are 21 K-Centres:

NLP:EL - Knowledge Centre for Natural Language Processing in Greece

CLASSLA - Knowledge Centre for South Slavic Languages

DiaRes - Knowledge Centre for Diachronic Language resources

TRTC -   Knowledge Centre for Terminology Resources and Translation Corpora

SMS - Knowledge Centre for Swedish in a Multilingual Setting

CNC - Czech Knowledge Centre for Corpus Linguistics

IMPACT Centre of Competence - CLARIN Knowledge Centre in digitisation

NSD - CLARIN Knowledge Centre for Data Management

More information on the CLARIN Knowledge Sharing Infranstructure, the CLARIN K-Centres and the application form and guidelines can be found here.